CIRTL Newsletter Header
 
This week we're running almost daily programming on inclusive pedagogy and exploring different options in the academic job market!

Today (Monday), our 4-part series on anti-racist learning environments continues with a presentation on decolonizing your curriculum. Tomorrow (Tuesday), we start a 3-part series on teaching at community colleges. Thursday, we host a panel of faculty speaking about what it's like to work at Minority-Serving Institutions & HBCUs. And Friday we wrap up the week with a workshop on teaching with an inclusive mindset. Everything is still open for registration, so sign up at the links above if you're interested! And if this week is a busy one for you, keep reading for a full list of our fall offerings below.

Beyond the CIRTL Network, colleagues at the Inclusive STEM Teaching Project are launching their fall Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on inclusive teaching next month.
 

Inclusive & Equitable Practices

This fall the CIRTL Network is hosting a workshop and a four-part event series highlighting different approaches to inclusive and equitable teaching practices. All programming takes place online, is open to the public, and requires registration to confirm your seat.

Fostering Antiracist Student Learning Experiences (event series)

Tuesday 9/21 & 9/28, Monday 10/4 & 10/11
1-2PM AT / 12-1PM ET / 11AM-12PM CT / 10-11AM MT / 9-10AM PT

Explore a range of sustainable approaches at the individual-, course-, program-, and institution-level to foster antiracist student learning experiences in this 4-part online event series. No cap.

The remaining events in this series are:

Research, Teaching, and Mentoring at Minority-Serving Institutions & Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Thursday, October 7
4-5:30PM AT / 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Join us for an online panel of faculty from Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs) and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) sharing their perspectives on being faculty at different types of institutions that serve diverse student populations. No cap.

Bring an Inclusive Mindset to Your Teaching

Friday, October 8
12-1:30PM AT / 11AM-12:30PM ET / 10-11:30AM CT / 9-10:30AM MT / 8-9:30AM PT
Learn about inclusive teaching approaches that build upon inclusive design frameworks, case studies, and educational research in this 1-session online workshop. No cap.
 

The Academic Job Market

This fall the CIRTL Network is hosting a workshop, a three-part event series, and a panel focused on different aspects of the academic job market. All programming takes place online, is open to the public, and requires registration to confirm your seat.

LinkedIn for Academics

Tuesday, October 12
1-2:30PM AT / 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Explore specific strategies to boost your professional networking on LinkedIn in this 1-session online workshop. No cap.

Exploring Careers in Teaching at a Community College

Tuesdays, October 5, November 2, and December 7
2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT

Become familiar with teaching careers at community colleges in this 3-part online event series that explores the joys and challenges of teaching at a community college, the broad diversity of students in their courses, how that diversity enhances learning, and the ins/outs of finding a full-time teaching position at a community college. No cap.

Events in this series are:
 

Making Change in Academia

This fall the CIRTL Network is hosting a workshop on how to make change in academia. All programming takes place online, is open to the public, and requires registration to confirm your seat.

Understanding Levers of Change in Academia

Wednesday, November 10 and November 24
1-2:30PM AT 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Learn how to identify levers of change in academic institutions, and how to navigate informal and formal mechanisms for effecting change in these complex institutions in this 1-session online workshop. No cap.
 

Beyond CIRTL

Looking for additional professional development opportunities to build evidence-based and inclusive teaching skills? Consider these opportunities beyond The CIRTL Network.

Inclusive STEM Teaching Project MOOC

6-week asynchronous course running October 13 through November 24
Join the NSF-funded Improving Undergraduate STEM Education (IUSE) initiative for a 6-week Massive Open Online Course on inclusive STEM teaching practices. The asynchronous course is designed to advance the awareness, self-efficacy, and ability of STEM faculty, postdocs, graduate students, and staff so that they may cultivate inclusive learning environments for all of their students.

Students enrolled in the MOOC have the option to join accompanying learning communities led by trained facilitators at institutions across the country. Learning communities have weekly online meetings to provide space for further discussion, reflection, and community building.
 

Academic Careers & Job Postings

Higher education job openings in the US and Canada focused on STEM education.
 

About The CIRTL Network

We are a network of 38 universities in the US and Canada committed to advancing inclusive, evidence-based Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education.
The Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. CIRTL has been generously supported by the National Science Foundation, the Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the Wisconsin Center for Education Research of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us online at www.cirtl.net or contact us at info@cirtl.net.